Call for Entries: 4th Annual 'Media for Liberty' Award

Journalism Award Grants $50,000 Prize to Finalist

ENGLEWOOD, Colo.--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- Liberty Media Corporation (Nasdaq: LMCA, LMCB) is now accepting submissions for the annual "Media for Liberty Award". This award recognizes media contributions that explore the link between economic and political liberty. Eligible works must be originally published or broadcast via print or electronic media during the 2012 calendar year, and received by Liberty Media no later than January 7, 2013. There is a $50,000 prize for the winning entry.

The 2013 Media for Liberty Award is open to journalists worldwide whose original works bring new insights on societal issues, news events, economies, political structures and cultures that illustrate prosperity or struggle in pursuit of a free market environment and civil liberties uninfluenced by government agenda.

Submitted works will be reviewed by a jury panel and evaluated based on the degree to which the theme is addressed, inspirational and educational value, relevance to the public discourse, and mastery of media format.

Past recipients of the Award include:

A Darkness Visible: Afghanistan (MediaStorm) – a film examining thirty years of Afghan history through the story of ordinary citizens whose lives play out in the shadow of superpowers.

“How a New Jobless Era will Transform America” (The Atlantic) – an essay exploring the likely and lasting effects of the recent Great Depression on American society, culture and politics.

"Congo Gold” (CBS “60 Minutes”)a segment chronicling the war-torn region of eastern Congo to investigate the connection between the mining of gold and other precious minerals.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible media outlets, including newspapers, magazines, journals, radio, television and websites, must be generally recognized in their markets and accessible to a broad audience in the United States.

  • Length: Print entries may not exceed 20,000 words. Electronic entries may not exceed 120 minutes.
  • Language: All entries must be in English, or submitted with an English translation or with English subtitles.
  • Examples: Eligible entries may include, but are not limited to, news reporting, feature coverage, investigative reporting, articles, essays, editorials, commentaries and documentaries.
  • Programs produced and intended for general theatrical motion picture release are not eligible.

The winner will be notified in February 2013. An awards ceremony will be held in the Spring of 2013 in Washington, D.C.

Entry forms, rules and judging criteria can be found at Liberty Media's web site, or on Facebook. Entries should be sent to:

Media for Liberty Award
12300 Liberty Boulevard
Englewood, CO 80112

For more information on the Media for Liberty Award, including the most recent and past honorees and details regarding eligibility please visit

About Liberty Media Corporation

Liberty Media (Nasdaq: LMCA, LMCB) owns interests in a broad range of media, communications and entertainment businesses, including its subsidiaries Atlanta National League Baseball Club, Inc. and TruePosition, Inc., its interests in Starz, LLC, SiriusXM, Live Nation Entertainment and Barnes & Noble, and minority equity investments in Time Warner Inc., Time Warner Cable and Viacom.

Liberty Media
Courtnee Ulrich, 720-875-5420
Press Contact:
Amanda Cheslock, 212-446-1884

Source: Liberty Media Corporation