Media for Liberty Award Announces 2011 Jury Panel

Judges to Evaluate Submissions, Grant $50,000 Prize to Winning Entry

ENGLEWOOD, Colo., Sept. 13 /PRNewswire/ -- Liberty Media Corporation ("Liberty") (Nasdaq: LCAPA, LCAPB, LINTA, LINTB, LSTZA, LSTZB) today announced the 2011 Media for Liberty Award jury panel.  The Media for Liberty Award was established in 2009 to acknowledge published works that explore the relationship between economic and political liberties.  

Eligible works must be originally published or transmitted via print or electronic media during the 2010 calendar year and received by Liberty Media no later than January 7, 2011.  There is a $50,000 prize for the winning entry.  The call for entries for year two is currently open.  

The distinguished Media for Liberty Award panel represents thought leaders in the world of journalism and media:  

    --  Christy Carpenter - Executive Vice President and Chief Operating
        Officer, Paley Center for Media
    --  Allan Dodds Frank – Immediate Past President, Overseas Press Club of
        America (OPC)
    --  Rana Foroohar - Deputy Editor, Newsweek
    --  John Malone - Chairman, Liberty Media Corporation
    --  Mark McSherry – Veteran reporter and editor, Reuters, South China
        Post, London Sunday Times and The Scotsman; Professor of Journalism, New
        York University and St Francis College
    --  Stacey Woelfel – Chairman, Radio Television Digital News Association

The panel will evaluate entries based on the degree to which the theme is addressed, inspirational and educational value, relevance to the public discourse, and mastery of media format.  

"We are excited to see the momentum building for the competition and would like to welcome the members of the 2011 Media for Liberty Award jury panel," said John Malone, Chairman of Liberty Media.  "Each of my fellow judges has an impressive reputation and we are honored for their contribution to the Award."

Eligibility Requirements

The Media for Liberty Award is open to entrants worldwide whose creative and original works explore the correlation between economic and political liberty.  

Eligible media outlets, including newspapers, magazines, journals, radio, television and websites, must be generally recognized in their markets and accessible to a broad audience in the United States.  

    --  Length: Print entries may not exceed 20,000 words. Electronic entries
        may not exceed 120 minutes.
    --  Language: All entries must be in English, or submitted with an English
        translation or with English subtitles.
    --  Examples: Eligible entries may include news reporting, feature coverage,
        investigative reporting, articles, essays, editorials, commentaries,
        documentaries and educational works.
    --  Programs produced and intended for general theatrical motion picture
        release are not eligible.

The winner will be notified in February 2011.  An awards ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C. in the Spring of 2011.

Entry forms, rules and judging criteria can be found at Liberty Media's web site, or on Facebook.  Entries should be sent to:

Media for Liberty Award

12300 Liberty Boulevard

Englewood, CO 80112


About Liberty Media Corporation

Liberty Media owns interests in a broad range of electronic retailing, media, communications and entertainment businesses. Those interests are attributed to three tracking stock groups: (1) the Liberty Interactive group (Nasdaq:  LINTA, LINTB), which includes Liberty Media's interests in QVC, Provide Commerce,, BUYSEASONS,, IAC/InterActiveCorp, and Expedia, (2) the Liberty Starz group (Nasdaq:  LSTZA, LSTZB), which includes Liberty Media's interest in Starz Entertainment, and (3) the Liberty Capital group (Nasdaq:  LCAPA, LCAPB), which includes all businesses, assets and liabilities not attributed to the Interactive group or the Starz group including its subsidiaries Starz Media, LLC, Atlanta National League Baseball Club, Inc., and TruePosition, Inc., Liberty Media's interest in SIRIUS XM Radio, Inc., and minority equity investments in Time Warner Inc. and Live Nation.

Contacts for Liberty Media:

Courtnee Ulrich


Press Contact:

Amanda Cheslock


SOURCE Liberty Media Corporation