Call for Entries: 2nd Annual 'Media for Liberty' Journalism Award

$50,000 Prize for Winning Submission

ENGLEWOOD, Colo., May 26 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ -- Liberty Media Corporation ("Liberty") (Nasdaq: LCAPA, LCAPB, LINTA, LINTB, LSTZA, LSTZB) is now accepting submissions for the annual "Media for Liberty Award".  This award acknowledges media contributions that explore the correlation between economic and political liberty.  Eligible works must be originally published or broadcast via print or electronic media during the 2010 calendar year, and received by Liberty Media no later than January 7, 2011.  There is a $50,000 prize for the winning entry.

The Media for Liberty Award is open to journalists worldwide whose original works bring new insights on societal issues, news events, economies, political structures and cultures that illustrate their prosperity or struggle in their pursuit of a free market environment and civil liberties uninfluenced by government agenda.

Submitted works will be reviewed by a jury panel and evaluated based on the degree to which the theme is addressed, inspirational and educational value, relevance to the public discourse, and mastery of media format.  

The winner of the first annual Media for Liberty Award was a CBS 60 Minutes segment titled "Congo Gold".  In this compelling piece, 60 Minutes traveled to the war-torn region of eastern Congo to investigate the connection between the mining of gold and other precious minerals and the violence that has contributed to the deaths of over five million people in the past decade.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible media outlets, including newspapers, magazines, journals, radio, television and websites, must be generally recognized in their markets and accessible to a broad audience in the United States.  

    --  Length: Print entries may not exceed 20,000 words. Electronic entries
        may not exceed 120 minutes.
    --  Language: All entries must be in English, or submitted with an English
        translation or with English subtitles.
    --  Examples: Eligible entries may include news reporting, feature coverage,
        investigative reporting, articles, essays, editorials, commentaries,
        documentaries and educational works.
    --  Programs produced and intended for general theatrical motion picture
        release are not eligible.

The winner will be notified in February 2011.  An awards ceremony will be held in the Spring of 2011.

Entry forms, rules and judging criteria can be found at Liberty Media's web site, or on Facebook.  Entries should be sent to:

Media for Liberty Award

12300 Liberty Boulevard

Englewood, CO 80112


About Liberty Media Corporation

Liberty Media owns interests in a broad range of electronic retailing, media, communications and entertainment businesses. Those interests are attributed to three tracking stock groups: (1) the Liberty Interactive group (Nasdaq: LINTA, LINTB), which includes Liberty Media's interests in QVC, Provide Commerce,, BUYSEASONS,, IAC/InterActiveCorp, and Expedia, (2) the Liberty Starz group (Nasdaq: LSTZA, LSTZB), which includes Liberty Media's interest in Starz Entertainment, and (3) the Liberty Capital group (Nasdaq: LCAPA, LCAPB), which includes all businesses, assets and liabilities not attributed to the Interactive group or the Starz group including its subsidiaries Starz Media, LLC, Atlanta National League Baseball Club, Inc., and TruePosition, Inc., Liberty Media's interest in SIRIUS XM Radio, Inc., and minority equity investments in Time Warner Inc. and Live Nation.

Contacts for Liberty Media:

Courtnee Ulrich


Press Contact:

Amanda Cheslock


SOURCE Liberty Media Corporation